Currently, I’m awaiting two things and I’m not sure which causes the most tension.

Just published my FIRST paperback.  Brotherly Love  is available on Amazon.  The publication of an actual physical version of a book is a momentous occasion for any writer.  It’s a dream come true.  Okay.  It’s the K-Mart Blue Light Special version of a dream come true.  The actual dream come true would involve a NY publishing house, an editor, a literary agent and a book tour.  But, the great thing about being a writer today is that we can take the reins of our own destiny.  Thank you Createspace and Amazon. 

My listing just went live on the aforementioned literary mecca called Amazon and I’m anxiously awaiting my first sale.  Not that I’m clicking my Createspace member dashboard every few minutes or anything.  No.  Of course not.  (Yeah, right.)

The other anxiety producing event is that my husband is actually reading the book.  He’s nobody’s romance fan.  Just last night he told me that he might go postal if he ever read any versions of the words pebbled and nipples in the same sentence again.   I asked if he’d have the same problem looking at them.  He shot me a look. Yeah, one of those looks.  No dear, I’m not certifiable. 

So, I’m biting my nails to see whether my husband will be able to finish the book and come up with anything nice to say about it.  Can the man I’ve been married to for over 20 years and produced two people with find something non-nasty to say when he finishes my book?  If he finishes my book?   

I can hear it in my head.  It’s the voice of the announcer from the soap I used to watch with my maternal grandmother.  Her grandchildren called her Mammy.  We  called my maternal grandfather Spot. Don’t ask.  But anyway, Mammy and I used to watch a soap called “The Edge of Night” every afternoon.  That announcer’s voice is in my head now. 

What’s he saying?  It goes something like this: 

Will any patron of Amazon ever click the buy button and take delivery on Mary Anne Graham’s firstborn paperback, Brotherly Love?  Will the man who with Mary Anne Graham created her first and second born sons actually read her entire book?  If he does, will he be able to say something nicer than, “It wasn’t completely rotten.” Or even – you dreamer you – “It didn’t make me want to throw up.”

Stay tuned women everywhere.  As for me, like I said, I’m biting my fingernails.

My toenails are even starting to look tasty!!

